Skip to main content


2021 Human Rights Award winners announced

Rights and Freedoms
2021 Human Rights Awards winners

The Australian Human Rights Commission is proud to announce the winners of the 2021 Human Rights Awards, recognising the outstanding human rights achievements of individuals and organisations across the country.

This year, the awards took on a new and streamlined format across three categories: the Human Rights Medal, the Young People’s Medal and Community Human Rights Champion.

The winners are:

  • Human Rights Medal: Professor Larissa Behrendt AO
  • Young People’s Medal: Chanel Contos
  • Community Human Rights Champion: PlateitForward

“After a year of global challenges, it is important we acknowledge the contribution of individuals and organisations in promoting and protecting human rights and freedoms in Australia,” said Commission President, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM.

“The Human Rights Awards are an opportunity to celebrate those who are outstanding advocates for a fairer and more equal Australia for all.

“All our 2021 Human Rights Award winners and finalists deserve to be applauded for their tireless devotion to making Australia a better place.”

“As part of our mission to advance the rule of law, LexisNexis have been proud to support the Human Rights Awards for many years,” said Executive Sponsor for Rule of Law at LexisNexis Australia, Myfanwy Wallwork.

“We join the Australian Human Rights Commission in celebrating the 2021 winners and nominees as we are deeply grateful for their significant achievements, which benefit individuals and our community as a whole.”

“The European Union proudly supports the 2021 Human Rights Awards, and is committed to safeguarding democracy and human rights, in accordance with its founding principles of liberty, democracy and respect for human rights, fundamental freedoms and the rule of law,” said EU Ambassador to Australia, His Excellency Dr Michael Pulch.

For more information about the Human Rights Awards and the three categories, visit

The full list of finalists is available at

Thank you to our 2021 award sponsors:

Sponsors: EU Delegation to Australia, LexisNexis