Skip to main content

Final opportunity to nominate for the 2019 Human Rights Awards

Rights Rights and Freedoms
Rosalind Croucher, Johnathan Thurston winning 2017 Human Rights Medal and friend

It’s your last chance to get your nominations in for the prestigious 2019 Human Rights Awards!

The deadline for nominations will not be extended again, so nominations must be submitted by Monday 29 July to avoid missing out.

The Awards are an opportunity for the Australian Human Rights Commission to celebrate ordinary Australians who are extraordinary advocates for human rights.

Past winners - including Johnathan Thurston and Chrissie Foster - were recognised for their dedication to making a difference in areas such as access to justice, gender equality, disability inclusion, racial vilification, and age discrimination… just to name a few.

Our nine awards categories capture the diversity of our nominees and their work:

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Law Award
  • Business Award
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Government Award
  • Media Award
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award

What unites everyone across these categories, be they individuals, organisations, or businesses, is a commitment to making Australia a fairer and more equal society for all.

If this sounds like you or an individual, organisation, or business you know, submit your nomination here.