Skip to main content

Human Rights Awards

Human Rights Award winners, Mahboba Rawi, Nawid Cina, Caroline Cecile Fletcher, Scientia Professor Jane McAdam, Andrea Comastri (hotel Etico CEO)

The Human Rights Awards recognise contributions of individuals and organisations across Australia who champion human rights, social justice, and equality for all.

More than 34 years after their conception, the Human Rights Awards have grown to become a prestigious annual event, championing the work of hundreds of people across a variety of sectors and endeavours every year.

The winners of the 2022 Human Rights Awards were :

  • Human Rights Medal: Mahboba’s Promise,
  • Law Award: Scientia Professor Jane McAdam
  • Young People’s Award: Caroline Cecile Fletcher
  • Community Award: Hotel Etico

You can view all of the 2022 finalists and previous winners dating back to 1987 here.

The first Human Rights Medal winner was Indigenous activist Rose Colless OAM, who was acknowledged for her tireless work in drug and alcohol rehabilitation initiatives for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. In the following years, the Human Rights Medal was awarded to esteemed advocates including Fred Hollows, Peter Greste, Dorothy Hoddinott AO, Ian Thorpe, Jonathan Thurston, The Hon Peter McClellan AM QC and Chrissie Foster AM, Rosemary Kayess, and Professor Larissa Behrendt AO.

The Human Rights Awards provide Australia with an opportunity to honour the unsung heroes of human rights. They shine a light on and promote the work of champions who often go unrecognised for their efforts in challenging, transforming the realisation of human rights in Australia.


2023 Human Rights Awards

The Australian Human Rights Commission usually opens nominations for the Human Rights Awards in June or July.

To ensure you receive information about the awards and how to nominate, sign up to the Commission’s monthly newsletter and follow the Commission on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.



Latest News and Events

Commission – General

Commission announces 2021 Human Rights Awards finalists

Every year the Commission holds the Human Rights Awards to celebrate human rights achievements. It is a chance to acknowledge, congratulate and share the important work of organisations, businesses, and individuals across the nation.

Category, Story