Skip to main content

Who will you nominate for a 2021 Human Rights Award?

Rights and Freedoms
Jasmine Cavanagh at the Human Rights Awards in 2019 wearing a black headband, colourful necklace and black shawl

Jasmine Cavanagh, a young woman from the Northern Territory community of Santa Teresa pursued ground-breaking legal action to hold the NT Government responsible for the poor state of housing in her community.

In 2019, Ms Cavanagh’s change-making work was recognised with a Human Rights Award.

Ms Cavanagh is one of many individuals and organisations who have been recognised, acknowledged, and celebrated by the Australian Human Rights Commission for their tireless work within the human rights sector.

The Human Rights Awards are an opportunity to celebrate human rights achievements, and to share the important work of organisations, businesses, and individuals across the nation.

There are many Australians, like Ms Cavanagh, who have made extraordinary contributions to human rights. Is there someone in your community whose work inspires you? An organisation who continues to positively impact human rights? Give them the recognition they deserve by nominating them for an Award today.

Nominating is easy and can be completed online here.

Nominations will close at midnight Saturday 31 July. This deadline will not be extended.

Please refer to the selection criteria when nominating. To be eligible for nomination, entrants must have made an outstanding contribution to the promotion and protection of human rights IN AUSTRALIA in at least one of the following areas between August 1, 2019 and July 31, 2021. You can put forward nominations across all three categories.

The winners of this year’s Awards will be announced across the Commission’s social channels in December. Make sure you follow the #HRA21 social media campaign to stay up to date.

Facebook: @aushumanrights

Instagram: @aushumanrights

Twitter: @AusHumanRights

LinkedIn: Australian Human Rights Commission

For all enquiries, please contact the Human Rights Awards team via email at